Castle House, Grade II* Listed, was built in 1842 by John Board, a local builder and manufacturer of bricks, tiles and ‘modern’ cements. It was a showcase and an experiment in the pioneering use of the new materials.
The reinforcement of his extraordinary floor and roof constructions with iron was revolutionary and the building may represent the earliest known survival of a modern reinforced concrete construction.
The building is now on the Heritage At Risk register and in very poor condition. FMA has been working with SAVE Britain’s Heritage since 2009 to repair the building and find suitable new uses. Urgent works and trials, grant aided by English Heritage, were completed in 2013.